Go to top
Informations
The club, the mission and the code of ethics

The club

We are a group of enthusiasts of the Cornish Rex breed. Some of us are breeders, owners of rex, admirers, veterinarians, members of all kinds of other feline associations, Rex exhibitors… all united by our common desire to see this breed continue to develop under the watchful eye of those who desire the protect, improve and simply enjoy this incredible breed.

We want to bring together Cornish Rex enthusiasts from coast to coast to coast, we want to have representatives in every province and make Canada a country renowned for the quality of its Cornish Rex cats.

The mission

The Canadian Cornish Rex Club shall be the main representing body of this breed with regards to the Canadian authorities and shall become the preferred resource for it’s breeders and owners.

Informations

By providing useful and relevant information on type, standard, health issues, ethical breeding practices as well as any other relevant advice and queries.

Complete file

By elaborating a complete file on the breed in order to present it to the government of Canada to allow for it’s recognition and protection.

Breeders

By uniting experienced and novice breeders, owners and proponents of the Cornish Rex to facilitate the sharing of knowledge and experience.

The code of ethics

This Code of Ethics applies to all breeders who are members of the Cornish Rex Club of Canada (CRCC). Its objective is to provide breeders with a guideline as to the values to be adopted in the management of a professional, respectful, conscientious and responsible breeding program.

Introduction

It is the responsibility of all breeders to produce cats that meet the requirements of the Canadian breed standard and to comply with appropriate ethical business practices when buying, breeding and selling cats.
In addition, every breeder club member has obligations to the public, other breeders, animals and the environment.

1. Obligations to the public

1.1 Informing the public

1.1.1 The breeder is able to provide truthful and up-to-date information about the Cornish Rex breed to the public and respond as best as possible to the questions put to them. When the breeder is uncertain, he/she can direct the person to other reputable resources.

1.1.2 The breeder keeps up to date on current health issues, best breeding practices and breed standards to ensure the transmission of the most accurate information possible.

1.1.3 The breeder supports the club's efforts with the Canadian authorities regarding the recognition of the Cornish Rex breed. The information circulating on this subject must always be truthful and current. The public can count on the breeders of the club to represent the Cornish Rex at their best.

1.2 Protecting the public

1.2.1 The breeder remains transparent in his words and his actions but can intervene in a situation where a member of the public is aggrieved or misinformed.

1.2.2 The breeder supports the efforts made by associations or groups of breeders to improve breeding practices in Canada.

1.2.3 The breeder recognizes the efforts of other breeders and supports them if these efforts are aimed at improving the quality of the bloodlines.

2. Respect toward the client

2.1 Informing the client

2.1.1 The breeder informs his client about the characteristics of the breed, the characteristics of the kitten concerned, the origin of his parents, his genealogy, his condition and all that could influence the decision to purchase the kitten.

2.1.2 The breeder informs his client when the kitten presents either a medical condition, a deviation in hair or breed type characteristics, a serious congenital or aesthetic defect that could disturb or oppress the client.

2.1.3 The breeder is able to refer his/her client to external resources once the kitten adopted, to allow him to offer him the best quality of life and the best possible care. The breeder remains accessible to his client for any question or request for advice.

2.1.4 The breeder will not present the Cornish Rex breed as a hypoallergenic breed.

2.2 Protecting the client

2.2.1 The sale of a kitten is sealed by a written contract in which all the characteristics, conditions of sale and guarantees are clearly defined. It is the breeder's responsibility to ensure that the contract contains clauses that are easy to interpret and as detailed as possible, especially with respect to the application of the warranty.

2.2.2 The breeder informs the client when the kitten is affected by a viral, bacterial or parasitic disease, unless it is completely cured at the time of sale and does not remain a source of contamination for the other animals of the client. This is especially important when the kitten is sold to a family with other cats or as a breeder in another cattery because it could introduce unwanted infectious agents and cause a lot of hassle and expenses to families and / or breeders.

2.2.3 The breeder informs the client if the kitten has a genetic or congenital disease, even if no symptoms are apparent. The breeder informs the client about the potential risks of genetic diseases and the measures taken to try to eradicate such diseases in their bloodlines.

3. Respect toward other breeders

3.1 Cooperation with other breeders

3.1.1 The breeder remains transparent in his words and his actions but can intervene in a situation where another breeder is aggrieved or misinformed. However, the breeder remains impartial during conflicts and intervenes only in case of dispute.

3.1.2 The breeder supports the efforts made by associations or groups of breeders to improve breeding practices in Canada.

3.1.3 The breeder recognizes the efforts of the other breeders and supports them if these efforts are aimed at improving the quality of the breeding.

3.1.4 In an effort to continually improve Cornish Rex bloodlines, breeders can articulate constructive criticism when it is relevant and desired, and be open to constructive feedback from other breeders as well.

4. Respect toward animals and the breed

4.1 Respecting fundamental rights of cats

4.1.1 The breeder maintains adequate hygiene of his/her breeding facilities and allows cats to have access to water and food of sufficient quality and quantity.

4.1.2 The breeder strives, by all the means available, to preserve the harmony and the happiness of the cats living under his roof, whether permanent or temporary residents.

4.1.3 The breeder provides a stimulating, biologically appropriate environment for all cats living under his/her roof (ex: scratching post, shelves, cushions, safe toys etc.).

4.1.4 The breeder updates his/her knowledge and continues to develop and improve breeding practices and protocols, with regard to the health of his cats and kittens (health screening tests, available medications, adapted veterinary care etc).

4.1.5 The breeder shall provide the necessary health and maintenance care to all cats under his care in the event of a particular disease or condition and shall only use euthanasia when the quality of life of the animal is significantly and permanently affected.

4.1.6 The breeder tries to place his kittens and retired adult cats in the best possible families and does not hesitate to refuse the sale of a kitten when he/she feels a potential danger for the animal or if the family conditions unfavorable. In the case of a breeding cat, the breeder ensures that the breeder who buys his cat for reproduction purposes will take care of the animal and offer him a good quality of life.

4.2 Protecting the breed

4.2.1 The breeder supports the efforts made by associations or groups of breeders to improve breeding practices in Canada.

4.2.2 The breeder rigorously selects his breeding cats striving to produce kittens that meet the breed standard. This also applies to cats sold for reproduction purposes to other breeders.

4.2.3 For their breeding program, breeders select kittens with adequate health based on the best of their knowledge and according to available screening tests. This also applies to cats sold for reproduction purposes to other breeders.

5. Respecting the environment

5.1 Preserving the environment

5.1.1 The breeder is careful to dispose of used litter, food bags and cans properly by recycling what is recyclable.

5.1.2 The breeder returns any unused or expired medical product, medicine and antibiotic to his veterinarian or pharmacy for safe disposal.

5.2 Respecting the neighbors

5.2.1 The breeder is careful in keeping the outside of his/her breeding facility free of debris and waste related to breeding/keeping cats and will try to the best of his capacity to not inconvenience his neighborhood n any way (smell, waste etc).

5.2.2 The breeder takes the necessary measures so that no animal disturbs the tranquility of the neighborhood, either with excessive meowing through an open window or by the physical presence of the cat outside the property which could cause problems of marking or public nuisance. Neighbors, ideally, should not be overly aware of breeding activities.

6. Recommended practices for breeder members

6.1 The club strongly encourages its breeders to adopt the following practices, in order to protect the Cornish Rex breed:

6.1.1 All cats and kittens are implanted with a microchip with owner contact information registered in an accessible and recognized database.

6.1.2 All cats and kittens leave the cattery spayed or neutered (sterilized), unless they have been selected for breeding or in the rare exception of those with a medical condition contraindicating surgery.

6.1.3 All cats and kittens are registered by the breeder, with a recognized association, and this, before the sale.

6.1.4 The sale of a kitten is sealed by a written contract, accompanied by a guarantee.

6.1.5 The breeder presents his/her cats in shows to obtain the opinion of various judges in order to improve his bloodlines and help select future breeding cats.

6.1.6 The breeder keeps a detailed record of all his/her cats, including those who have been neutered and adopted, as well as all kittens born at the cattery.

Go to top
Informations
Le club, la mission et le code d’éthique

Le club

Nous sommes un regroupement de personnes adeptes de la race du Rex de Cornouailles. Le club est formé de gens passionnés par la race du Rex de Cornouailles. Entre autres, on y retrouve des éleveurs, propriétaires de Rex de Cornouailles, admirateurs, vétérinaires, membres d’autres associations félines, exposants, etc.

Nous sommes tous réunis par notre désir commun de voir cette race continuer à se développer sous l’oeil attentif de ceux qui désirent la protéger, l’améliorer et tout simplement la côtoyer. Nous souhaitons réunir les passionnés du Rex de Cornouailles d’un bout à l’autre du pays, nous désirons avoir des représentants dans toutes les provinces, et faire du Canada un pays reconnu pour la qualité de ses Rex de Cornouailles.

La mission

Le Club canadien du Rex de Cornouailles sera le principal représentant de cette race féline devant les autorités canadiennes et deviendra la ressource privilégiée de ses éleveurs et propriétaires. Nous souhaitons servir la race via ces trois volets:

Informations

En procurant l’information utile et réelle sur le type standard, les problèmes de santé, les bonnes pratiques d’élevage ainsi que tout autre conseil ou réponse.

Dossier Complet

En élaborant le dossier complet de cette race pour la présenter devant le gouvernement du Canada et ainsi en permettre la reconnaissance et la protection.

Éleveurs

En regroupant des éleveurs d’expériences et des nouveaux éleveurs, propriétaires et adeptes de Rex de Cornouailles et en favorisant l’échange des connaissances et expériences.

Le Code D'éthique

Ce Code d’éthique s’applique à tous les éleveurs membres du Club du Rex de Cornouailles du Canada (CRCC). Son objectif est de fournir aux éleveurs une ligne directrice quant aux valeurs à adopter dans la gestion d’un élevage professionnel, respectueux, consciencieux et responsable.

Introduction

Tout éleveur a la responsabilité de produire des chats qui répondent aux exigences du standard de la race au Canada et de se conformer aux pratiques commerciales appropriées et éthiques lors de l’achat, de l’élevage et de la vente de ses chats.
De plus, tout éleveur membre du club a des obligations envers le public, les autres éleveurs, les animaux et l’environnement.

1 Respect envers le public

1.1 Informer le public

1.1.1 L’éleveur est en mesure de fournir des informations véridiques et d’actualité sur tout ce qui concerne la race du Rex de Cornouailles aux gens du public et de répondre du mieux qu’il le peut aux questions qui lui sont posées. Lorsque l’éleveur se trouve dans l’incertitude, il peut diriger la personne vers d’autres ressources.

1.1.2 L’éleveur se tient informé sur les sujets d’actualité relatifs à la santé, aux meilleures pratiques d’élevage et du standard de sa race, pour s’assurer de transmettre la meilleure information possible.

1.1.3 L’éleveur appuie les démarches réalisées par le club auprès des autorités canadiennes en ce qui a trait à la reconnaissance de la race du Rex de Cornouailles. L’information qui circule à ce sujet doit toujours être véridique et d’actualité. Le public peut compter sur les éleveurs du club pour représenter les Rex de Cornouailles à leur juste valeur.

1.2 Protéger le public

1.2.1 L’éleveur demeure transparent dans ses paroles et ses actes mais peut intervenir devant une situation où une personne du public se voit lésée dans ses droits ou mal informée.

1.2.2 L’éleveur appuie les démarches faites par les associations ou les groupes d’éleveurs qui ont pour but d’améliorer les pratiques d’élevage au Canada.

1.2.3 L’éleveur reconnaît les efforts des autres éleveurs et les appuie si ces efforts ont comme but d’améliorer la qualité des lignées.

2. Respect envers le client

2.1 Informer le client

2.1.1 L’éleveur informe son client sur les caractéristiques de la race, les caractéristiques du chaton concerné, la provenance de ses parents, sa généalogie, sa condition et tout ce qui pourrait influencer la décision d’achat.

2.1.2 L’éleveur avise son client lorsque le chaton présente une condition médicale ou un changement de caractéristique du poil ou du type, ou encore un défaut de fabrication grave ou esthétique qui pourrait déranger ou opprimer le client.

2.1.3 L’éleveur est en mesure de référer des ressources externes à son client une fois le chaton adopté, afin de lui permettre de lui offrir une meilleure vie et les meilleurs soins possibles. L’éleveur demeure accessible pour son client pour toute question ou demande de conseils.

2.1.4 L’éleveur ne présentera pas la race Rex Cornish comme étant une race hypoallergène.

2.2 Protéger le client

2.2.1 La vente d’un chaton est scellée par un contrat dans lequel toutes les caractéristiques, conditions de vente, inclus et garanties sont clairement définies. Il est de la responsabilité de l’éleveur de s’assurer que le contrat contienne des clauses faciles à interpréter et le plus détaillées que possible, surtout en ce qui concerne l’application de la garantie.

2.2.2 L’éleveur informe le client lorsque le chaton est affecté par une maladie virale, bactérienne ou parasitaire, à moins que celui-ci soit complètement guéri au moment de la vente et ne demeure pas une source de contamination pour les autres animaux du client. Ceci est d’autant plus important lorsque le chaton est vendu à une famille possédant d’autres chats ou comme reproducteur dans une autre chatterie car il pourrait introduire des agents infectieux non désirés et occasionner beaucoup de tracas et de frais monétaires aux familles et/ou éleveurs.

2.2.3 L’éleveur informe le client si le chaton est atteint d’une maladie génétique ou congénitale, même si aucun symptôme n’est apparent. L’éleveur informe le client sur les risques potentiels de maladies génétiques et des mesures prises pour tenter d’éradiquer de telles maladies dans ses lignées.

3. Respect envers les autres éleveurs

3.1 Coopérer avec les autres éleveurs

3.1.1 L’éleveur demeure transparent dans ses paroles et ses actes mais peut intervenir devant une situation où un autre éleveur se voit lésé dans ses droits ou mal informé. Cependant, l’éleveur demeure impartial lors de conflits et n’intervient qu’en cas de litige.

3.1.2 L’éleveur appuie les démarches faites par les associations ou les groupes d’éleveurs qui ont pour but d’améliorer les pratiques d’élevage au Canada.

3.1.3 L’éleveur reconnaît les efforts des autres éleveurs et les appuie si ces efforts ont pour but d’améliorer la qualité de l’élevage.

3.1.4 Dans l’optique de toujours améliorer les lignées de Rex de Cornouailles du Canada, tout éleveur peut avoir un esprit critique et donner son opinion lorsque celle-ci pertinente et désirée, et être ouvert aux commentaires constructifs des autres éleveurs.

4. Respect envers les animaux et la race

4.1 Respecter les droits fondamentaux des chats

4.1.1 L’éleveur entretient ses lieux d’élevage et permet à ses chats d’avoir accès à de l’eau et de la nourriture de qualité et en quantité suffisante.

4.1.2 L’éleveur tente, par tous les moyens dont il dispose, de conserver l’harmonie et le bonheur des chats vivant sous son toit, qu’ils soient de passage ou non.

4.1.3 L’éleveur fournit un environnement stimulant à tous les chats vivant sous son toit (par exemple des tablettes, coussins, jouets sécuritaires etc).

4.1.4 L’éleveur s’informe et continue de se développer pour améliorer ses pratiques et ses protocoles, en ce qui a trait à la santé de ses chats et chatons (tests de dépistages, médicaments disponibles, soins vétérinaires adaptés etc).

4.1.5 L’éleveur offre les soins de santé et d’entretien nécessaires à tous les chats se trouvant sous sa responsabilité en cas de maladie ou de condition particulière et n’a recours à l’euthanasie que lorsque la qualité de vie de l’animal est dégradée de façon significative et permanente.

4.1.6 L’éleveur tente de placer ses chatons et ses chats adultes retraités dans les meilleures familles possibles, et n’hésite pas à refuser la vente d’un chaton lorsqu’il sent un potentiel danger pour l’animal ou si les conditions familiales sont peu favorables. Dans le cas d’un chat de reproduction, l’éleveur s’assure que l’éleveur qui achète son chat pour en faire la reproduction prendra soin de l’animal et lui offrira une belle qualité de vie.

4.2 Protéger la race

4.2.1 L’éleveur appuie les démarches faites par les associations ou les groupes d’éleveurs qui ont pour but d’améliorer les pratiques d’élevage au Canada.

4.2.2 L’éleveur sélectionne rigoureusement ses reproducteurs dans le but de s’assurer de produire des chatons qui répondent aux standards de la race. Ceci s’applique également aux chats vendus à d’autres éleveurs qui voudraient en faire la reproduction.

4.2.3 L’éleveur sélectionne dans son programme de reproduction les chatons qui présentent une santé adéquate, et ce, au meilleur de ses connaissances et selon les tests de dépistage disponibles. Ceci s’applique également aux chats vendus à d’autres éleveurs qui voudraient en faire la reproduction.

5. Respect envers l’environnement

5.1 Préserver l’environnement

5.1.1 L’éleveur prend soin de disposer adéquatement des litières usagées, des sacs de nourriture et des cannes de conserves en recyclant ce qui est recyclable.

5.1.2 L’éleveur retourne chez son vétérinaire ou en pharmacie tout produit médical ou antibiotique non utilisé et périmé en vue d’en disposer de la meilleure façon.

5.2 Respecter le voisinage

5.2.1 L’éleveur prend soin de garder les lieux extérieurs de son élevage exempts de débris et de déchets relatifs à l’élevage et tentera au mieux de sa capacité à n’interférer d’aucune façon avec son voisinage (odeur, déchets etc)

5.2.2 L’éleveur prend les dispositions nécessaires pour qu’aucun animal ne perturbe la tranquillité du voisinage, soit par des miaulements excessifs par une fenêtre ouverte ou par la présence physique du chat à l’extérieur de la propriété qui pourrait occasionner des problèmes de marquage ou de nuisance publique. Les voisins, au mieux, ne devraient pas outre mesure avoir connaissance des activités de l’élevage.

6. Recommandations en matière de pratiques pour les membres éleveurs

6.1 Le club encourage fortement ses éleveurs à adopter les pratiques suivantes, dans le but de protéger la race du Rex de Cornouailles

6.1.1 Tous les chats et chatons sont munis d’une micropuce dont le numéro ainsi que les coordonnées du propriétaire sont enregistrés sur une base de donnée accessible et reconnue.

6.1.2 Tous les chats et chatons quittent la chatterie stérilisés, sauf si ces derniers sont sélectionnés pour l’élevage, exceptés ceux présentant une condition médicale contre-indiquant la chirurgie.

6.1.3 Tous les chats et chatons sont enregistrés par l’éleveur, auprès d’une association reconnue, et ce, avant la vente.

6.1.4 La vente d’un chaton est scellée par un contrat écrit, accompagné d’une garantie.

6.1.5 L’éleveur présente ses chats en exposition et obtient l’avis de divers juges pour améliorer ses lignées et l’aider à sélectionner ses futurs reproducteurs.

6.1.6 L’éleveur tient un registre détaillé de tous ses chats, incluant ceux qui ont été stérilisés et adoptés, ainsi que tous les chatons nés à la chatterie.